Cape Motorsports with WTR Enjoys Solid Season Opener
 April 8, 2014| 
  • Team News

Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing and drivers Neil Alberico and Scott Hargrove had a solid season opener in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires on the Streets of St. Petersburg, March 29 and 30.

Hargrove, the 2013 USF2000 Series champion, and Alberico, the USF2000 runner-up, made their Pro Mazda debuts in the Cape Motorsports hometown of St. Pete in front of a large Verizon IndyCar crowd. After qualifying second and 10th, respectfully, Race 1 was delayed due to a nasty thunderstorm that sent teams and spectators running for cover.

Following the delay, 20 drivers took to the track. Hargrove, driving the No. 3, was able to stay with the lead drivers throughout the race and finished on the podium in third. Alberico, driving the No. 2,  was able to work his way through the pack for a sixth-place finish.

It was clear skies the following day for Race 2. Hargrove started third and Alberico started sixth in the 19-car field. With no cautions, both drivers were able to gain valuable experience. Hargrove finished fifth, with teammate Alberico finishing one spot behind in sixth.

Hargrove is currently fourth in driver points, with Alberico currently sitting in the sixth position. Cape Motorsports is second in the team point standings.

“It was a good weekend for our drivers,” said team owners Dominic and Nicholas Cape said. “Both Neil and Scott are rookies, so to finish in the top-six in all four races is an accomplishment. It won’t take long until they are standing atop the podium.”

The team and drivers will be on track April 26-27 at Barber Motorsports Park with the Verizon Indy Car Series and the entire Mazda Road to Indy ladder system.

About Cape Motorsports: Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing was formed in 2010 as a partnership between two successful racing entities. With leadership from brothers Nicholas and Dominic Cape, and along with Wayne Taylor and his organization in Indianapolis, the team campaigns cars in the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires and the Cooper Tires Presents the USF2000 National Championship Powered by Mazda. For more information, please visitwww.capemotorsports.comYou can follow the team on Facebook and Twitter (CMwithWTR) for updates.

About Pro Mazda: The Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires debuted as a new series in 2013, replacing the Star Mazda Championship which ceased operation in 2012 after 22 years. The series is sanctioned by INDYCAR and owned and operated by Andersen Promotions. It is the second official step on the Mazda Road to Indy ladder system bridging the gap between the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda and Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires. The series’ champion is awarded a scholarship package from Mazda to advance to Indy Lights competition the following year.

  • 24-07-22-tjspeed1
    • Team News
  • USF Pro Race 2
    • Series News
  • Sikes_Race1
    • Series News
  • Pabst banner
    • Team News
  • Hughes Banner
    • Series News