JDC MotorSports and Piedrahita Reunite in Pursuit of 2013 Pro Mazda Championship
 January 11, 2013| 
  • Team News

Talented Colombian racer poised to build on rookie double podium effort

MINNEAPOLIS, MINN. – A familiar face will again be under the JDC MotorSports' awning in 2013, as Juan Piedrahita rejoins the multiple championship-winning team for the 2013 edition of the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires. The Colombian, with a season of series success now under his belt, is focused on challenging for wins and a fourth championship crown for the Minnesota-based squad.

After another race-winning campaign in the Pro Mazda Championship (formerly the Star Mazda Championship) last year, JDC MotorSports is keen to continue that trend and go after the series title in 2013. With Piedrahita rejoining the team for a second consecutive season of series action, the squad is poised to do just that. Given the up-and-coming 20 year-old stood on the podium twice, and was a regular front-runner en route to seventh in the championship chase in 2012, when combined with JDC's proven track record in both the Pro Mazda Championship and junior formula car racing as a whole, many believe the stage is set for Piedrahita to be a title contender right from the waving of the first green flag.

"We are very excited to continue our relationship with Juan into the 2013 season," commented team principal John Church. "This will mark the third year that Juan has driven one of the Black and Blue cars, and we fully expect to be competing for the championship in 2013. Juan brings an enormous amount of talent and a great attitude.”

"It's great to be back with JDC MotorSports for the 2013 season," added Piedrahita. "I'm very grateful for this opportunity, and for sure plan on fighting for wins and the championship. I want to thank John, and the whole team, for giving me a second year in the Pro Mazda series, and to my long-term sponsors which have supported my career from the beginning. I'm ready to go and fight for wins!!"

As part of a multi-car championship effort by JDC Motorsports, which also includes recently announced rookie Lloyd Read, the Petrosur/GFK Motors-backed Piedrahita enters the upcoming Pro Mazda season with further Mazda Road to Indy success on his resume. In addition to his two trips to the post race podium and five top-fives in Pro Mazda action this past season, Piedrahita scored two podium finishes in his lone season of USF2000 Championship action in 2011 - also with JDC MotorSports - en route to seventh in the title chase.

Piedrahita and JDC MotorSports will conduct off-season testing prior to commencing the quest for Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper top honors at the recently confirmed season-opening doubleheader on March 1-2, at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin Texas.

JDC MotorSports races with associate sponsorship from www.RedLineOil.com

Additional information on JDC MotorSports can be obtained from the team’s website @ www.jdcmotorsports.com For direct contact, please contact John Church @ 952-233-3075

Learn more about Juan Piedrahita at juanchopiedrahitac.com and keep up to date via Twitter @ Juanpc9 and his Facebook page @ Juan-Diego-Piedrahita-Juancho

Learn more about Lloyd Read at LloyReadRacing.com keep up to date via Twitter @ lloydread16 and his Facebook page @ LloydReadRacing


About JDC MotorSports:
Involved in formula car racing since its inception in 1994, JDC MotorSports has established itself as one of the leading junior open-wheel teams in North America. Initially making its mark in the F2000 class of club racing competition, JDC MotorSports was soon a team worth watching in the pro ranks. Competing in the Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship, the team not only won races, but also helped develop multiple young drivers. In 2005, JDC MotorSports expanded its efforts, entering the Star Mazda Championship. Quickly becoming one of the top teams in the series, JDC captured both the driver and team titles in 2007, as well as Rookie of the Year honors, with Dane Cameron scoring a series-high three wins. In 2008, JDC MotorSports was the runner-up in the Star Mazda Championship and finished fourth in its inaugural season of F2000 Championship Series competition. The Minnesota-based team won the Star Mazda Championship title with Rookie of the Year Adam Christodoulou, and the F2000 Championship Series title with Chris Miller in 2009. The following year, JDC continued its winning ways, earning the Rookie of the Year award in the Star Mazda Championship with Connor De Phillippi, and scoring a non-points win in the USF2000 National Championship. In 2011, the Minneapolis-based squad captured its third Star Mazda Championship title with Tristan Vautier, scored a win in the USF2000 National Championship, and made its Prototype Lites Championship debut, earning five podium finishes. JDC MotorSports added to its Star Mazda Championship win tally, USF2000 Championship podium total in 2012, and finished as the Prototype Lites Championship runner-up.

  • Sikes Banner
    • Series News
  • Hughes
    • Team News
  • Eves
    • Team News
  • Morales
    • Team News
  • Tyke
    • Series News