JDC Motorsports Poised to Add to Pro Mazda Podium Tally in Toronto
 July 11, 2013| 
  • Team News

The talented trio of Meyer, Piedrahita, and Read focused on challenging for top honors in return to street racing in Canada

MINNEAPOLIS, MINN. – The quest for race wins in the competitive Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires series resumes for multiple champion JDC MotorSports this coming weekend (July 13-14) via Rounds Seven and Eight in Toronto, Ont. Coming off a podium finish in the second of back to back oval races, the Minnesota-based squad is keen to continue its run of form in the second half of the 2013 campaign. The skilled contingent of Zack Meyer, Juan Piedrahita and Lloyd Read will once again lead the charge, having showcased good speed and skill last time on a street circuit.

After going 'circle track' racing the last two times the Pro Mazda cars rolled on-course, the talented Mazda Road to Indy program field will return to more traditional street circuit racing to commence the second half of the title fight. While the fast and tight confines of the 1.755-mile track within the Canadian National Exhibition grounds in downtown Toronto will certainly present multiple new obstacles, JDC MotorSports drivers and crew are up for the challenge.

Piedrahita for one is looking forward to getting the action underway in Toronto. Not only is the No. 9 Petrosur/Sisolec/GFK Motors/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports pilot coming off his first podium finish of the season - second at the Milwaukee Mile - but the Colombian has also shown an affinity for racing inside a 'concrete jungle'. Piedrahita has twice stood on the podium at a street circuit in Pro Mazda, finishing second in both St. Petersburg and Toronto races last year, as well as finishing fourth and sixth in two other races at the same tracks.

"I'm really happy to be back in the groove," stated Piedrahita. "Toronto is my favorite race track, and I'm looking for a very strong performance. We will bring the momentum we have, and perform at 100 percent!"

Meyer likewise has enjoyed some of his best results in the highly-regarded junior formula car series on street circuits. Piloting the No. 66 Damis Partners III/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports entry, the Toronto racer will be seeking to better his double top-10 effort last time he raced in front of family, friends and supporters on his home track, as well as build on his sixth and seventh place finishes earlier this year on the streets of St. Petersburg.

For the series rookie Read, the first of back-to-back races in Canada is an opportunity to gain further experience and make the most of JDC MotorSports expertise on street circuits. The No. 16 Read Motorsports/Aerocraft Design/Maaco/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports racer from Wales is focused on improving on the two ninth place results he scored back in March at the Florida street circuit.

"We are finally heading back to street course racing, and I am extremely thrilled to be turning right and braking again!" commented Read. "I have been preparing for this race for many weeks now, and I am excited to get on-track."

The JDC MotorSports trio have the added bonus of driving for a former race winner in Toronto, as the squad captured the win in the inaugural Star Mazda Championship race on the streets in Toronto in 2007, with former series champion Dane Cameron capturing the victory.

Meyer, Piedrahita, and Read will first roll their Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires racing steeds on to the Toronto street circuit on Friday (July 12) with two 30-minute practice runs, prior to the lone qualifying session at 4:15 pm local time. Round Seven takes place on Saturday (July 13) at 8:45 am local time, followed by Round Eight at 9:55 am local time on Sunday (July 14). Live timing and scoring is available at www.starmazda.com/timing. JDC MotorSports enters the Canadian doubleheader currently fourth in the team standings, while Meyer, Read, and Piedrahita are seventh, eighth, and 12th respectively in the championship fight.

JDC MotorSports races with associate sponsorship from RedLineOil.com

Additional information on JDC MotorSports can be obtained from the team’s website @ www.jdcmotorsport.com For direct contact, please contact John Church @ 952-233-3075

Learn more about Zack Meyer at ZackMeyer.ca and keep up to date via Twitter @ ZackMeyer66

Learn more about Juan Piedrahita at JuanchoPiedrahitac.com and keep up to date via Twitter @ Juanpc9 and Facebook @ Juan Diego Piedrahita "Juancho"

Learn more about Lloyd Read at LloydReadRacing.com and keep up to date via Twitter @ LloydRead16 and Facebook @ Lloyd Read Racing


About JDC MotorSports:
Involved in formula car racing since its inception in 1994, JDC MotorSports has established itself as one of the leading junior open-wheel teams in North America. Initially making its mark in the F2000 class of club racing competition, JDC MotorSports was soon a team worth watching in the pro ranks. Competing in the Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship, the team not only won races, but also helped develop multiple young drivers. In 2005, JDC MotorSports expanded its efforts, entering the Star Mazda Championship. Quickly becoming one of the top teams in the series, JDC captured both the driver and team titles in 2007, as well as Rookie of the Year honors, with Dane Cameron scoring a series-high three wins. In 2008, JDC MotorSports was the runner-up in the Star Mazda Championship and finished fourth in its inaugural season of F2000 Championship Series competition. The Minnesota-based team won the Star Mazda Championship title with Rookie of the Year Adam Christodoulou, and the F2000 Championship Series title with Chris Miller in 2009. The following year, JDC continued its winning ways, earning the Rookie of the Year award in the Star Mazda Championship with Connor De Phillippi, and scoring a non-points win in the USF2000 National Championship. In 2011, the Minneapolis-based squad captured its third Star Mazda Championship title with Tristan Vautier, scored a win in the USF2000 National Championship, and made its Prototype Lites Championship debut, earning five podium finishes. JDC MotorSports added to its Star Mazda Championship win tally, USF2000 Championship podium total in 2012, and finished as the Prototype Lites Championship runner-up.

  • Missig
    • Team News
  • TJ Speed
    • Team News
  • Jace
    • Team News
  • Escotto Banner
    • Team News
  • 2ExclusiveAutosport-Brewer-Announcement_RTIWebsite
    • Team News