Point Scoring Start to Pro Mazda Oval Run for JDC MotorSports
 May 31, 2013| 
  • Team News

Trio of Meyer, Piedrahita and Read exited Night Before the 500 event with plenty of data and experience

MINNEAPOLIS, MINN. – The first of back-to-back Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires races on an oval featured JDC MotorSports taking home valuable points and information. While the skilled trio of Zack Meyer, Juan Piedrahita, and Lloyd Read did not garner the results desired on Saturday night (May 25) in Round Five at Lucas Oil Raceway, they exited the prestigious Night Before the 500 event prepared to return to their championship contending ways.

One of the highlights of Pro Mazda Championship is the opportunity for drivers and teams to showcase their talents on a variety of courses. After opening the year at a permanent road course and a street circuit, the action switched to an oval in Indiana as part of the festivities leading up to the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500.

First taking to the 0.686-mile banked Lucas Oil Raceway via three Friday test sessions, spirits were high under the JDC MotorSports awning. Making the most of the skill and experience of the talented squad, Meyer, Piedrahita, and Read spent the opening three runs focusing on car balance, which is vital when 'circle track' racing. Piedrahita ultimately led the JDC contingent, turning the third best time in the No. 9 Petrosur/Sisolec/GFK Motors/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports entry during test 1.

When the field returned to action one day later for two more practice runs prior to a late afternoon qualifying session and evening race, the goal was to further fine tune the racing steeds for the ever changing conditions. Despite all three JDC racers struggling to find their desired pace, the entire Minnesota-based squad remained upbeat entering single-car qualifying.

With a new format of using the combined time from two flying laps to determine the starting grid, qualifying commenced under increasingly overcast skies. Piedrahita once again proved quickest among the trio, just missing a row two starting position with the fifth best time. Piloting the No. 16 Read Motorsports/Aerocraft Design/Maaco/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports racer, Read likewise showed good pace, turning the eighth best two-lap time. Meyer, while not quite able to match the pace he had showed in the final practice run, made it three JDC cars in the top-10, with the ninth best time.

After a brief break to further evaluate any additional changes to the cars, and plan out a race strategy, it was time to go racing. Unfortunately, mother nature had other ideas, with light rain falling as the field rolled away behind the safety car. Becoming increasingly slick, the race was halted after 11 laps of yellow flag running.

Thankfully the rain subsequently stopped, and following track drying by Lucas Oil Raceway officials, the Pro Mazda cars were back on-course some two hours later than planned. Getting the green flag after a few pace laps, the shortened 52-lap affair proved to be a frustrating affair for JDC MotorSports. Piedrahita was initially poised to challenge for a podium place, unfortunately his night came to a premature end on lap 23, when he made contact with the concrete retaining wall. Meyer and Read meanwhile struggled with car balance in traffic, preventing them from making the most of any opportunities to move forward. That being said, neither stopped battling, and when the race ended with rain starting to fall once again, Meyer was eighth in his No. 66 Damis Partners III/Red Line Oil/JDC MotorSports entry, just ahead of his teammate Read in ninth.

"It was a tough weekend for us," commented Read. "While we had good speed in the car, we were unable to maintain that speed when following other cars in the race, making it very difficult to pass the slower cars ahead. We know what to focus on at the Milwaukee series test so we have not only a good qualifying setup, but an even stronger race setup."

The JDC MotorSports racers and crew continue the oval portion of the 2013 Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires campaign on June 14, with Round Six at the Milwaukee Mile. Prior to racing at the historic Wisconsin oval, the three-time series champion took part in official series testing at the same facility on May 29th. JDC MotorSports currently sits fourth in the team standings.

JDC MotorSports races with associate sponsorship from www.RedLineOil.com

Additional information on JDC MotorSports can be obtained from the team’s website @ www.jdcmotorsport.com For direct contact, please contact John Church @ 952-233-3075

Learn more about Nick Andries at NickAndries.com and keep up to date via Twitter @ NickAndries81 and Facebook @ Nick Andries Racing

Learn more about Zack Meyer at ZackMeyer.ca and keep up to date via Twitter @ ZackMeyer66

Learn more about Juan Piedrahita at JuanchoPiedrahitac.com and keep up to date via Twitter @ Juanpc9 and Facebook @ Juan Diego Piedrahita "Juancho"

Learn more about Lloyd Read at LloydReadRacing.com and keep up to date via Twitter @ LloydRead16 and Facebook @ Lloyd Read Racing


About JDC MotorSports:
Involved in formula car racing since its inception in 1994, JDC MotorSports has established itself as one of the leading junior open-wheel teams in North America. Initially making its mark in the F2000 class of club racing competition, JDC MotorSports was soon a team worth watching in the pro ranks. Competing in the Formula Ford 2000 Zetec Championship, the team not only won races, but also helped develop multiple young drivers. In 2005, JDC MotorSports expanded its efforts, entering the Star Mazda Championship. Quickly becoming one of the top teams in the series, JDC captured both the driver and team titles in 2007, as well as Rookie of the Year honors, with Dane Cameron scoring a series-high three wins. In 2008, JDC MotorSports was the runner-up in the Star Mazda Championship and finished fourth in its inaugural season of F2000 Championship Series competition. The Minnesota-based team won the Star Mazda Championship title with Rookie of the Year Adam Christodoulou, and the F2000 Championship Series title with Chris Miller in 2009. The following year, JDC continued its winning ways, earning the Rookie of the Year award in the Star Mazda Championship with Connor De Phillippi, and scoring a non-points win in the USF2000 National Championship. In 2011, the Minneapolis-based squad captured its third Star Mazda Championship title with Tristan Vautier, scored a win in the USF2000 National Championship, and made its Prototype Lites Championship debut, earning five podium finishes. JDC MotorSports added to its Star Mazda Championship win tally, USF2000 Championship podium total in 2012, and finished as the Prototype Lites Championship runner-up.

  • USF Pro podium
    • Series News
  • Hughes_IRP
    • Team News
  • TW_IndyGP_Friday-79-scaled
    • Team News
  • 24-05-21-jhdd1
    • Team News
  • Johnson Banner
    • Series News